|
|
Manntis 10-23-2007, 12:34 PM I recently bought some Tokico shocks for my RX-7 from Rhythm Racing Motorsports via their ebay listing (they're currently using the user ID jdm-in-stock)
I was happy to find fully assembled shocks, with spring perches already installed, as that's what they showed in the photos. So I clicked the buy it now button, and paid immediately through PayPal.
A couple of weeks later I received strut cartridge refills. No perches, no brackets, just stripped down shocks that require you to disassemble your old struts and swap everything over.
So I emailed them about it, and asked them to email me back. No response. I emailed them again, asked them to email me back. They left a message for me on my phone while i was out. So I emailed again, asking them to respond by email. They called me.
A bit put out that they insisted on calling my cellphone long-distance even though I'd asked three times that they email me, and that their response was I "should have known" that the shocks wouldn't be as pictured (nevermind there was no disclaimer in their auction) I was furthermore a bit surprised that these self-described Mazda experts had never heard of Racing Beat.
No matter - they agreed to refund me $120. IF I left them positive feedback on eBay first. Which, like an idiot, I did.
I waited... and waited... and... nothing. Days later I emailed them again saying if I didn't see that refund soon, I'd share my experience with them on the car forums, my site rotorhead.ca, and whatever other venues I could think of so others wouldn't get ripped off by them.
They sent $80 to a different email address, one not connected to a paypal account.
I called and told them of their 'error'. Oops, they said, we didn't keep track of which email address you sent us payment from. No explanation as to why they sent 1/3 less than agreed.
They retracted the $80 payment within minutes, but didn't send the $120. Tired of their games, I filed a PayPal dispute for "Item not as described". They then messaged me saying they'd send the $120 IF I close the PayPal dispute first.
Fool me once...
Someone please repost this to the RX-7 club.
Vert8813B 10-23-2007, 12:46 PM Dat sucks man.
Herschel 10-23-2007, 01:05 PM There are two "JDM in Stock" companies on ebay. I bought a gauge holder from the smaller of the two companies, IIRC, and it was cheaper than anyone else and it arrived super fast. Here is the link to the ebay store of the company I purchased from...
http://stores.ebay.com/JDMINSTOCK_W0QQsspagenameZADMEQ3aBQ3aEOIBSAQ3aUSQ3 a45QQtZkm
Is this the same one you ordered from?
jhammons01 10-23-2007, 01:14 PM I'll post it...but the klub is down!!!!!
Manntis 10-23-2007, 01:18 PM There are two "JDM in Stock" companies on ebay. I bought a gauge holder from the smaller of the two companies, IIRC, and it was cheaper than anyone else and it arrived super fast. Here is the link to the ebay store of the company I purchased from...
http://stores.ebay.com/JDMINSTOCK_W0QQsspagenameZADMEQ3aBQ3aEOIBSAQ3aUSQ3 a45QQtZkm
Is this the same one you ordered from?
I don't think so - the one I purchased from is jdm-in-stock (hyphens included)
Eatmyclutch 10-23-2007, 01:21 PM And I need to list something on teh club...
Manntis 10-23-2007, 01:26 PM Update:
Weeks of nothing, but I did tell them I'd be letting others know of my experience with their customer service.
Then I posted this thread, sent copies of the above text to members of my RX-7 facebook group, and finally published it, with pictures, on http://www.rotorhead.ca
Got my refund 2 minutes ago. Coincidence?
Herschel 10-23-2007, 02:49 PM I don't think so - the one I purchased from is jdm-in-stock (hyphens included)
Good. I wanted to use that company for some other things. If anyone needs a Greddy gauge holder, they are cheaper than anyone else I found that actually sells them. They also have lots of other good products for excellent prices.
Oh and BTW, glad you finally got your refund. I think I remember reading something about the company you did buisness with on teh klub not too long ago....
Vert8813B 10-23-2007, 03:01 PM Could be worse...HPA Motorsports was found to be using used and/or secondhand parts on turbo setups on the VW scene. They have basically been run out of business due to word spreading so fast on VWVortex.com.
Herschel 10-23-2007, 03:12 PM Isn't HPA the company that built that crazy sick 900hp (or some such crazy hp) R32?
Vert8813B 10-23-2007, 03:19 PM Correct.
Herschel 10-23-2007, 05:40 PM So what happened with them exactly?
Vert8813B 10-23-2007, 08:38 PM I'll try and find the link.
Vert8813B 10-23-2007, 09:02 PM I swear they had some threads about how HPA used a used crank in someguys car after they blew it from too much boost and then the car died and it was found out the crank was used blah blah blah, but I can't find it. It should also be noted that on VWVortex, HPA actually moderates the R32 forums. :D
Cosby 10-23-2007, 10:48 PM I've sold a hood or two to HPA. Assholes from what I remember. I could be wrong though.
Forums suck, one person posts some stupid shit and then it spreads like wildfire whether it's well-founded or not. I had some college kid's mom try to scam me into paying for her kid's kit to be painted. She then tried to extort me by posting bullshit on forums. Customers can be just as shitty as companies.
fcdrifter13 10-24-2007, 12:05 AM I want to here the story about the kit.
|