PDA

JOIN THE FORUM LOUNGE!

By Joining The Forum Lounge you will be able to see the pictures in this thread and post a reply. Also, after 25 posts you'll be able to see the hidden forums as well!

It's free and all of your information is confidential.

Click here to begin interacting!
Click here to register

Join in on this Discussion and see the pictures. Click here-> : WTF? Is this a new kind of scam?


preludedude
11-01-2004, 02:13 PM
I am trying to sell my auto parts on "thepartstrader.com" as RXTASY suggested.

I have gotten 2 emails from 2 different people interested but both emails were the same info, but were worded differently. But both guys wanted to do same thing. Send me a check well over the price of tranny, and have me send rest to shipping company, even though they would be "picking it up".

I have never once heard of this and now 2 guys in 2 days have sent me emails stating this.

Rxtasy, have you ever encountered this on that site?

Here is a copy and paste of one of the 2 emails I got:

"THANKS ALOT FOR THE MAIL; I AM INTRESTED IN BUYING IT BUT A CASHIER CHECK OF
§1200 will be send to you which cover your fees and the shipping company fees,
please kindly know that as soon as you get the check you remit the excess
balance to the shipper, kindly send your name, address and phone unmber to me,
so that i can forward to my client to issue the payment for you.
hope to read from you soon.
thanks"


Anyone heard or seen of this kind of behavior?

Mark
95SE

Cosby
11-01-2004, 02:36 PM
it is some sort of laundering

ChevyMuscle
11-01-2004, 04:09 PM
its a definite rip-off... you could do like this one guy did that i know, he's got it on a website... they wanted a laptop, so he sent a cardboard laptop for the heck of it, and had people he knew that lived near the guy who "bought" it watch the guy pick it up... don't do it, they're tryin to scam ya

Sean951
11-01-2004, 10:12 PM
its a scam. I was selling a lotus exhaust system for a friend on a classifieds website once, i must have had at least 10 people from south africa offer to buy it for more money than i wanted as long as i sent some money to someone else in the states for them.

Stegall
11-01-2004, 10:16 PM
when Ihad my 300 on the auto trader, i had a gur from africa ge in touch with me wanting to buy it for his client as he said. I was like what ever BS..

well I got a check in the mail abouta week later for 12k. totatly legit looking check wih instructions for me to go to the nearest no id check cashing place, cash the check keep my share, and then return the rest of the money to that guy for his commission. I was like wtf.. so I take the check to my bank and they said it was a fake. what would have happened, the check cashing place would cash it for me, then id send off the cash, then id be in trouble for cashing fake checks, but to bad all that money was already gone. ive still got th check some where. crooks.

HTM Impreza WRX
11-01-2004, 11:51 PM
tell them to send the check...then keep the rest of the money...make sure you don't ship it out until it has cleared `2 months

HTM Impreza WRX
11-01-2004, 11:51 PM
ps...it's a scam

rxtasy
11-02-2004, 10:42 AM
Mark, i've never sold anything on thepartstrader so i wouldn't know if anyone else has had this happen to them, i just suggested the site thinking u'd have a much better chance of getting rid of that stuff. it does sound like a way to launder money.

N1XRR
11-03-2004, 12:57 PM
If you check on any of the large automotive forums you'll see this is a popular scam right now...and some people are making fun of these guys...but I would steer clear of those things. If it sounds fishy, it usually is.

JOIN THE FORUM LOUNGE!

By Joining The Forum Lounge you will be able to see the pictures in this thread and post a reply. Also, after 25 posts you'll be able to see the hidden forums as well!

It's free and all of your information is confidential.

Click here to begin interacting!
Click here to register